Starting July 1, cyclists in Virginia will have more room between them and passing cars.
Prior to July 1, drivers had to give two feet of clearance when passing a bicycle on Virginia roadways. Now the law requires motorists to give a three-foot clearance.
New Rules for Mopeds
Also effective July 1 in Virginia, moped and scooter drivers will be required to carry government-issued photo identification. It is still permissible to drive a scooter or moped, however, without a license.
However, the mopeds and scooters themselves must be titled and registered. The fees are $10 for a title and $20.25 for annual registration.
Finally, drivers and passengers on a moped or scooter must wear a helmet, as well as a face shield or safety glasses or goggles.
Brendan’s Law makes celebratory gunfire in which a person is wounded a Class 6 felony, punishable by up to five years in prison. The law is named in honor of Brandon Mackey, a 7 year old boy who was killed last year by a falling bullet while walking with his father to an Independence Day fireworks show.